The Question:

Which countries will be included in the next European Union expansion?

The Answer:

As of May 2011, negotiations for entry into the European Union are underway with Turkey, Croatia, and Iceland. The European Commission, which is the governing body of the EU, determines the conditions under which they will join the union. This is a very long and complicated process.

To learn more about the EU enlargement process, follow these links:Enlargement

Enlargement Q&A

For more information about the countries that have applied to the EU, visit our Countries of the World page.

—The Fact Monster


Play Hangman

Play Poptropica

Play Same Game

Try Our Math Flashcards