Born: 1937
Birthplace: New York, New York
Best known as: The author of The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle

Name at birth: Edward Irving Wortis

Avi is the author of several novels for young readers and has won Newbery awards for The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle (1990), Nothing But The Truth (1991) and Poppy (1995). A longtime librarian before becoming a novelist, he has written historical novels, comedies, animal adventures and ghost stories. His books include No More Magic (1979), The Man Who Was Poe (1990) and Beyond the Western Sea (1997).

Extra credit: He has said he got the nickname Avi from his sister, but was too young to remember why... Avi does not use his family name because they discouraged him from becoming a writer.

Copyright © 1998-2015 by Who2?, LLC. All rights reserved.

More on Avi from Fact Monster:

  • Aviz - Aviz Aviz , village, Portalegre dist., central Portugal, in Alto Alentejo. The Castilian order of ...
  • Avis - Avis: Avis: see Aviz, Portugal.
  • Warren Avis - Biography of Warren Avis, Founder of the Avis car rental chain, the second largest in the country. He was a former major in the Army Air Force, and a car dealership o…
  • Avi - Biography of Avi, The author of The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle
  • Samuel Brashear AVIS - AVIS, Samuel Brashear (1872—1924) AVIS, Samuel Brashear, a Representative from West Virginia; ...