V.S. Naipaul


Born: 17 August 1932
Birthplace: Chaguanas, Trinidad
Best known as: Nobel-winning author of A House for Mr. Biswas

Name at birth: Vidiadhar Surajprasad Naipaul

Sir V. S. Naipaul is an essayist and novelist who won the Nobel Prize for literature in 2001. Trinidadian by birth, Indian by descent and British by choice, Naipaul began his career in the 1950s. He built a reputation as a skilled writer on the strength of early novels, including The Mystic Masseur (1957), A House for Mr. Biswas (1961) and In a Free State (1971, Booker Prize). During the 1960s and '70s he stirred controversy for his essays and books on post-colonial cultures in the Caribbean, Africa and India. Supporters say he is unsentimental, while critics call him insensitive, if not worse. A world traveler based in England, during the 1980s he began writing about Islamic fundamentalism and has since become known as a harsh critic of its culture. Political controversies aside, Naipaul is recognized as one of England's best living writers, knighted in 1990 and awarded the Nobel Prize for literature in 2001. His other works include the novels The Enigma of Arrival (1987), A Way in the World (1994) Half a Life (2001) and Magic Seeds (2003); a non-fiction account of his travels through the Caribbean, The Middle Passage (1962); his exploration of his relationship with India, An Area of Darkness (1964); his novel set in Africa, A Bend in the River (1979); and his controversial books about travels in the Islamic world, Among the Believers: An Islamic Journey (1981) and Beyond Belief: Islamic Excursions Among the Converted Peoples (1998).

Copyright © 1998-2015 by Who2?, LLC. All rights reserved.

More on V S Naipaul from Fact Monster:

  • V. S. Naipaul - Naipaul, V. S. Naipaul, V. S. (Sir Vidiadhar Surajprasad Naipaul), 1932–, English author, b. ...
  • V.S. Naipaul - Biography of V.S. Naipaul, Nobel-winning author of A House for Mr. Biswas
  • El Dorado, legendary country of South America - El Dorado El Dorado [Span.,=the gilded man], legendary country of the Golden Man sought by ...
  • Man Booker Prize - Man Booker Prize Man Booker Prize, an annual prize of £50,000 (originally £20,000) for ...
  • August 17 Birthdays: Pierre de Fermat - August 17 birthdays: Pierre de Fermat, Mae West, Ted Hughes, Sean Penn, Robert De Niro, V. S. Naipaul, William Carey, Marcus Garvey , Davy Crockett

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.