Southern and Antarctic Lands

Status: Overseas Territory

Administrator: Cécile Pozzo di Borgo (2014)

Land area: 3,023 sq mi (7,829 sq km, excluding Adélie Land)

Capital: Port-au-Français

Major sources and definitions

This territory is uninhabited except for the personnel of scientific bases. It consists of Adélie Land (166,752 sq mi; 431,888 sq km) on the Antarctic mainland (which the U.S. does not recognize) and the following islands in the southern Indian Ocean: the Kerguelen and Crozet archipelagos and the islands of Saint-Paul and New Amsterdam.

French Overseas Territories


Play Hangman

Play Poptropica

Play Same Game

Try Our Math Flashcards