• A day is measured by how long it takes the earth to rotate (turn) once: 24 hours.
  • The earth is divided into 24 time zones. It takes the sun an hour to cross each zone.
  • The time zones are marked by imaginary lines called meridians, which run north and south on the globe.
  • The prime meridian is at Greenwich, England. It is 0° longitude. From here, east and west longitude is calculated for the rest of the globe.
  • A new day begins at the international date line, which is halfway around the world from the prime meridian.
  • East of the international date line it is 1 day earlier than west of it. Remember, “Go ahead west to the new day, go back east to the old.”
Astrological SignsCalendarThe Names of the Days of the Week


Play Hangman

Play Poptropica

Play Same Game

Try Our Math Flashcards