The Seven Deadly Sins

The seven deadly sins are considered "deadly" because it is believed they can do terrible damage to the soul. The now-famous list does not appear in the Bible and may have been made by St. Gregory the Great (540-604). The deadly sins are sometimes known as "capital" or "cardinal" sins.

Cats Dancing Around a Praying Woman

The idea that there are seven deadly sins was of great interest during the Middle Ages. At that time the deadly sins were a popular theme among Christian thinkers, artists, and writers such as Dante and Chaucer.

  • Pride
  • Greed
  • Lust
  • Envy
  • Gluttony
  • Anger
  • Sloth

Roman Catholic PontiffsReligionReligious Dress

More on Seven Deadly Sins from Fact Monster:

  • virtue - virtue virtue [Lat.,=manliness], in philosophy, quality of good in human conduct. The cardinal ...
  • John Paul II, the Papacy, and the Roman Catholic Church - All about Pope John Paul and the Catholic Church
  • Pina Bausch - Bausch, Pina Bausch, Pina , 1940–, German dancer and choreographer. After training with Kurt ...
  • John Gower - Gower, John Gower, John , 1330?–1408, English poet. He was the best-known contemporary and ...
  • William Dunbar, Scottish poet - Dunbar, William Dunbar, William, c.1460–c.1520, Scottish poet. After attending the Univ. of ...

Play Hangman

Play Poptropica

Play Quizzes

Play Tic Tac Toe