The Five Senses

Each person has five sense organs that take in information from your environment and send it to your brain. Your brain then processes the information and tells your body how to respond. The sense organs are your eyes, ears, nose, tongue and skin.

SightEyesDetect color and light
HearingEarsDetect sound
SmellNoseDetects scents
TasteTongueDetects tastes: sweet, salty, sour and bitter
TouchSkinDetects pain, pressure, heat and cold

Your Body's SystemsBody Body Count

More on Five Senses from Fact Monster:

  • Your Body Inside and Out: 1 - Your Body Inside and Out How much do you know about your body? Take this quiz to find out. Question ...
  • Animal Senses - Animal Senses As humans, we get by with five senses: touch, taste, sight, smell, and hearing. They ...
  • John Locke: Philosophy - Philosophy In the Essay Concerning Human Understanding Locke examines the nature of the human mind ...
  • Body Trivia - Body Trivia The thickness of your skin varies from 1/2 to 6 millimeters, depending on the area of ...
  • SENSES - Animals use their senses to find out about the world around them. Most have the same five senses as humans, but some have extra senses, such as ECHOLO

Play Hangman

Play Poptropica

Play Quizzes

Play Tic Tac Toe