Newbery Medal and Honor Books

Updated February 23, 2017 | Factmonster Staff

The Question:

What is the difference between a Newbery Medal winner and a Newbery Honor Book?

The Answer:

The John Newbery Medal has been awarded every year since 1922. It is given to "the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children published in English in the United States during the preceding year." There is only one such award each year. However, there are generally other books that were strong contenders, worthy of recognition. These runners-up-usually between one and five in a given year-are honored as Newbery Honor Books.

See our Newbery Medal pages for listings of winners, and the official Newbery Medal Home Page for more information about the awards.

-The Fact Monster

Sources +