World Series Winners in New Cities?

Updated February 23, 2017 | Factmonster Staff

The Question:

Name the first baseball team to win the World Series after being relocated.

The Answer:

We're going to assume that "relocated" means teams that moved to a completely different city, rather than a new ballpark or city suburb.

In that case, the answer is the New York Yankees in 1923.

When the original eight-team American League was founded in 1901, there were no New York Yankees. In 1903, the defunct Baltimore Orioles team was bought, moved to New York, and renamed the N.Y. Highlanders. The name was changed to the Yankees in 1913 and the team won its first World Series title 10 years later. (The Baltimore Orioles team we know now joined the A.L. in 1954.)

The next team to do it was the Milwaukee Braves in 1957. The Braves moved from Boston four years earlier.

Read more about the origins of your favorite baseball teams and baseball expansion.

-The Fact Monster

Sources +