Hootie & the Blowfish

rock group

With the release of 1994's Cracked Rear View, which yielded the popular singles “Hold My Hand,” “Let Her Cry,” and “Only Want To Be With You,” Hootie & the Blowfish became a household name. The band (named for two of lead singer Darius Rucker's friends) followed this success with Fairweather Johnson (1996). More complicated than the easy going Cracked Rear View, Fairweather Johnson was considered something of a commercial failure. Although it achieved triple platinum status, it failed to come close to the more than 14 million sales that the band's initial release had. In 1998 Hootie released Musical Chairs.

Darius Rucker

lead vocalist
Born: 5/13/1966
Birthplace: Charleston, South Carolina

Mark Bryan

Born: 5/6/1967
Birthplace: Silver Spring, Maryland


Born: 10/20/1964
Birthplace: Lansing, Michigan

Dean Felber

Born: 6/9/1967
Birthplace: Bethesda, Maryland
See also: