The Presidents of the United States of America

rock group

Despite their name, and having performed at the Democratic National Convention, the group claims no political affiliation. In fact, the name was merely the last in a series of names—last only because it seems to have stuck— made up as they began performing gigs in the Seattle area in the early '90s. Their eponymous debut album, released originally in 1995 then by Columbia in 1996, generated three hits, “Lump,” “Kitty,” and “Peaches.” The album was followed by two others, II (1996) and Pure Frosting (1998). The group was nominated for the Best Alternative Music Performance Grammy award in 1995; a year later, “Peaches” was nominated in the Best Pop Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocal category. Its members are Chris Ballew , singer, guitarist; Dave Dederer, guitarist, singer; and Jason Finn, drummer, singer.

See also: