Astrological Signs

Updated February 21, 2017 | Factmonster Staff

The Zodiac

Twelve constellations, together called “the Zodiac,” form a circle around Earth. As Earth revolves around the Sun , a different part of the sky becomes visible, and each month a different one of these 12 constellations can be seen above the horizon.

The word Zodiac means “circle of figures” or “circle of life.”

symbol for aries
Aries (Ram): March 21–April 19
symbol of Taurus
Taurus (Bull): April 20–May 20
symbol for gemini
Gemini (Twins): May 21–June 20
symbol for cancer
Cancer (Crab): June 21–July 22
Leo (Lion): July 23–Aug. 22
Virgo (Virgin): Aug. 23–Sept. 22
Libra (Scales): Sept. 23–Oct. 22
Scorpio (Scorpion): Oct. 23–Nov. 21
Sagittarius (Archer): Nov. 22–Dec. 21
Capricorn (Goat): Dec. 22–Jan. 19
Aquarius (Water Bearer): Jan. 20–Feb. 18
Pisces (Fish): Feb. 19–March 20
Sources +