The Names of the Days of the Week

Updated February 21, 2017 | Factmonster Staff
Latin Old English English German French Italian Spanish
Dies Solis Sun's Day Sunday Sonntag dimanche domenica domingo
Dies Lunae Moon's Day Monday Montag lundi luned lunes
Dies Martis Tiw's Day Tuesday Dienstag mardi marted martes
Dies Mercurii Woden's Day Wednesday Mittwoch mercredi mercoled mircoles
Dies Jovis Thor's Day Thursday Donnerstag jeudi gioved jueves
Dies Veneris Frigg's Day Friday Freitag vendredi venerd viernes
Dies Saturni Seterne's Day Saturday Samstag samedi sabato sbado
NOTE: The seven-day week originated in ancient Mesopotamia and became part of the Roman calendar in C.E. 321. The names of the days are based on the seven celestial bodies (the Sun, the Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, and Saturn), believed at that time to revolve around Earth and influence its events. Most of Western Europe adopted the Roman nomenclature. The Germanic languages substituted Germanic equivalents for the names of four of the Roman gods: Tiw, the god of war, replaced Mars; Woden, the god of wisdom, replaced Mercury; Thor, the god of thunder, replaced Jupiter; and Frigg, the goddess of love, replaced Venus.
Sources +