2009 Academy Awards

Updated February 21, 2017 | Factmonster Staff
2009 Academy Awards | Oscar winners and nominees

The 2009 Academy Awards were presented on March 7, 2010, at the Kodak Theatre. All of the nominees are listed below; the Oscar winners are in bold.

Best Picture Avatar
The Blind Side
District 9
An Education
The Hurt Locker
Inglourious Basterds
A Serious Man
Up in the Air
Best Animated Picture Coraline
Fantastic Mr. Fox
The Princess and the Frog
The Secret of Kells
Actor in a Leading Role Jeff Bridges, Crazy Heart
George Clooney, Up in the Air
Colin Firth, A Single Man
Morgan Freeman, Invictus
Jeremy Renner, The Hurt Locker
Actress in a Leading Role Sandra Bullock, The Blind Side
Helen Mirren, The Last Station
Carey Mulligan, An Education
Gabourey Sidibe, Precious
Meryl Streep, Julie & Julia
Actor in a Supporting Role Matt Damon, Invictus
Woody Harrelson, The Messenger
Christopher Plummer, The Last Station
Stanley Tucci, The Lovely Bones
Christoph Waltz, Inglourious Basterds
Actress in a Supporting Role Penélope Cruz, Nine
Vera Farmiga, Up in the Air
Maggie Gyllenhaal, Crazy Heart
Anna Kendrick, Up in the Air
Mo'Nique, Precious
Directing James Cameron, Avatar
Kathryn Bigelow, The Hurt Locker
Lee Daniels, Precious
Quentin Tarantino, Inglourious Basterds
Jason Reitman, Up in the Air
Original Screenplay Mark Boal, The Hurt Locker
Quentin Tarantino, Inglourious Basterds
Alessandro Camon & Oren Moverman, The Messenger
Joel Coen & Ethan Coen, A Serious Man
Bob Peterson, Pete Docter, & Tom McCarthy, Up
Adapted Screenplay Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell, District 9
Nick Hornby, An Education
Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci, Tony Roche, In the Loop
Geoffrey Fletcher, Precious
Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner, Up in the Air
Cinematography Christian Berger, The White Ribbon
Mauro Fiore, Avatar
Robert Richardson, Inglourious Basterds
Bruno Delbonnel, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Barry Ackroyd, The Hurt Locker
Art Direction EM>Avatar, Art Direction: Rick Carter and Robert Stromberg; Set Decoration: Kim Sinclair
The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus, Art Direction: Dave Warren and Anastasia Masaro; Set Decoration: Caroline Smith
Nine, Art Direction: John Myhre; Set Decoration: Gordon Sim
Sherlock Holmes Art Direction: Sarah Greenwood; Set Decoration: Katie Spencer
The Young Victoria Art Direction: Patrice Vermette; Set Decoration: Maggie Gray
Editing Christopher Boyes and Gwendolyn Yates Whittle, Avatar
Paul N.J. Ottosson, The Hurt Locker
Wylie Stateman, Inglourious Basterds
Mark Stoeckinger and Alan Rankin, Star Trek
Michael Silvers and Tom Myers, Up
Mixing Christopher Boyes, Gary Summers, Andy Nelson and Tony Johnson, Avatar
Paul N.J. Ottosson and Ray Beckett, The Hurt Locker
Michael Minkler, Tony Lamberti and Mark Ulano, Inglourious Basterds
Anna Behlmer, Andy Nelson and Peter J. Devlin, Star Trek
Greg P. Russell, Gary Summers and Geoffrey Patterson, Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen
Song "Almost There" from The Princess and the Frog ; Music and Lyric by Randy Newman
"Down in New Orleans" from The Princess and the Frog ; Music and Lyric by Randy Newman
"Loin de Paname" from Paris 36; Music by Reinhardt Wagner Lyric by Frank Thomas
"Take It All" from Nine; Music and Lyric by Maury Yeston
"The Weary Kind" from Crazy Heart; Music and Lyric by Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett
Original Score James Horner, Avatar
Alexandre Desplat, Fantastic Mr. Fox
Marco Beltrami and Buck Sanders, The Hurt Locker
Hans Zimmer, Sherlock Holmes
Michael Giacchino, Up
Film Editing Stephen Rivkin, John Refoua and James Cameron, Avatar
Julian Clarke, District 9
Bob Murawski and Chris Innis, The Hurt Locker
Sally Menke, Inglourious Basterds
Joe Klotz, Precious
Costume Design Janet Patterson, Bright Star
Catherine Leterrier, Coco before Chanel
Monique Prudhomme, The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus
Colleen Atwood, Nine
Sandy Powell, The Young Victoria
Makeup Aldo Signoretti and Vittorio Sodano, Il Divo
Jon Henry Gordon and Jenny Shircore, The Young Victoria
Barney Burman, Mindy Hall and Joel Harlow, Star Trek
Visual Effects Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham and Andrew R. Jones, Avatar
Dan Kaufman, Peter Muyzers, Robert Habros and Matt Aitken, District 9
Roger Guyett, Russell Earl, Paul Kavanagh and Burt Dalton, Star Trek
Short Films
Animated French Roast, Fabrice O. Joubert
Granny O'Grimm's Sleeping Beauty , Nicky Phelan and Darragh O'Connell
The Lady and the Reaper (La Dama y la Muerte), Javier Recio Gracia
Logorama, Nicolas Schmerkin
A Matter of Loaf and Death, Nick Park
Feature The Door, Juanita Wilson and James Flynn
Instead of Abracadabra, Patrik Eklund and Mathias Fjellstrom
Kavi, Gregg Helvey
Miracle Fish, Luke Doolan and Drew Bailey
The New Tenants, Joachim Back and Tivi Magnusson
Short Subject China's Unnatural Disaster: The Tears of Sichuan Province, Jon Alpert and Matthew O'Neill
The Last Campaign of Governor Booth Gardner, Daniel Junge and Henry Ansbacher
The Last Truck: Closing of a GM Plant, Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert
Music by Prudence, Roger Ross Williams and Elinor Burkett
Rabbit à la Berlin, Bartek Konopka and Anna Wydra
Feature Burma, VJ Anders Ostergaard and Lise Lense-Moller
The Cove
The Most Dangerous Man in America: Daniel Ellsberg and the Pentagon Papers, Judith Ehrlich and Rick Goldsmith
Food, Inc., Robert Kenner and Elise Pearlstein
Which Way Home, Rebecca Cammisa
Foreign Language Film The White Ribbon, Germany
Ajami, Israel
El Secreto de Sus Ojos , Argentina
The Milk of Sorrow, Peru
Un Prophète , France

Information Please® Database, © 2009 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

2009 Academy Awards | Oscar winners and nominees
Sources +