2008 Caldecott Medal and Honor Books

Updated February 21, 2017 | Factmonster Staff

The Caldecott Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Caldecott Medal for Best Picture Book: The Invention of Hugo Cabret, illustrated by Brian Selznick (Scholastic)
Caldecott Honor Books: Henry's Freedom Box: A True Story from the Underground Railroad, illustrated by Kadir Nelson, written by Ellen Levine (Scholastic)
First the Egg, illustrated and written by Laura Vaccaro Seeger (Roaring Brook/Neal Porter)
The Wall: Growing Up Behind the Iron Curtain, illustrated and written by Peter Sís (Farrar/Frances Foster)
Knuffle Bunny Too: A Case of Mistaken Identity, illustrated and written by Mo Willems (Hyperion)

Sources +