The Governors of the Fifty States

Updated February 21, 2017 | Factmonster Staff

This page provides information about current state governors in the United States.

State Governor Current term1
Ala. Robert Bentley (R) 2011–2015
Alaska Sean Parnell (R)4 2009–20142
Ariz. Janice K. Brewer (D)3 2009–2015
Ark. Mike Beebe (D) 2011–2015
Calif. Jerry Brown (D) 2011–2015
Colo. John Hickenlooper (D) 2011–2015
Conn. Dan Maolly (D) 2011–2015
Del. Jack Markell (D) 2009–2013
Fla. Rick Scott (R) 2011–2015
Ga. Nathan Deal (R) 2011–2015
Hawaii Neal Abercrombie (D) 2010–20142
Idaho C. L. Butch Otter (R) 2011–2015
Ill. Pat Quinn (D) 2011–2015
Ind. Mitchell Daniels (R) 2009–2013
Iowa Terry Branstad (R) 2011–2015
Kans. Sam Brownback (R) 2011–2015
Ky. Steven Beshear (D) 2007–20112
La. Bobby Jindal (R) 2008–2012
Maine Paul LePage (R) 2011–2015
Md. Martin O'Malley (D) 2011–2015
Mass. Deval Patrick (D) 2011–2015
Mich. Rick Snyder (R) 2011–2015
Minn. Mark Dayton (D) 2011–2015
Miss. Haley Barbour (R) 2008–2012
Mo. Jay Nixon (D) 2009–2013
Mont. Brian Schweitzer (D) 2009–2013
Nebr. David Heineman (R) 2011–2015
Nev. Brian Sandoval (R) 2011–2015
N.H. John Lynch (D) 2009–2013
N.J. Chris Christie (R) 2010–2014
N.M. Susana Martinez (R) 2011–2015
N.Y. Andrew Cuomo (D) 2011–2014
N.C. Bev Perdue (D) 2009–2013
N.D. Jack Dalrymple (R) 2010–2012 2
Ohio John Kasich (D) 2011–2015
Okla. Mary Fallin (R) 2011–2015
Ore. John Kitzhaber (D) 2011–2015
Pa. Tom Corbett (D) 2011–2015
R.I. Lincoln Chafee (R) 2011–2015
S.C. Nikki Haley (R) 2011–2015
S.D. Dennis Daugaard (R) 2011–2015
Tenn. Bill Haslam (D) 2011–2015
Tex. Rick Perry (R) 2011–2015
Utah Gary R. Herbert (R)5 2009–2013
Vt. Peter Shumlin (R) 2011–2013
Va. Bob McDonnell (R) 2010–2014
Wash. Christine Gregoire (D) 2009–2013
W. Va. Earl Ray Tomblin (D) 2010–2011
Wis. Scott Walker (R) 2011–2015
Wyo. Matt Mead (R) 2011–2015
1. Except where indicated, all terms begin and end in January.
2. Term begins and ends in December.
3. Sworn in Jan. 21, 2009; replaced Janet Napolitano (confirmed as U.S. Secretary of Homeland Security).
Sources +