The Five Senses

Updated February 21, 2017 | Factmonster Staff

Each person has five sense organs that take in information from your environment and send it to your brain. Your brain then processes the information and tells your body how to respond. The sense organs are your eyes, ears, nose, tongue and skin.

SightEyesDetect color and light
HearingEarsDetect sound
SmellNoseDetects scents
TasteTongueDetects tastes: sweet, salty, sour and bitter
TouchSkinDetects pain, pressure, heat and cold
Sources +