2016 Nobel Prize Winners

Updated February 21, 2017 | Factmonster Staff
Nobel Prize

Related Links

Below find the winners of the 2016 Nobel Prizes, including prizes for Peace, Physics, Medicine, Chemistry, Literature, and Economics.

    Juan Manuel Santos (Colombia) "for his resolute efforts to bring the country's more than 50-year-long civil war to an end." (See also: Past winners in Nobel Peace Prizes.)

    Physiology or Medicine
    Yoshinori Ohsumi (Japan) and "for his discoveries of mechanisms for autophagy." (See also: Past winners in Physiology or Medicine Nobel Prizes.)

    Jointly to David J. Thouless (U.K.) and F. Duncan M. Haldane (U.K.) J. Michael Kosterlitz (U.K.) "for theoretical discoveries of topological phase transitions and topological phases of matter." (See also: Past winners in Nobel Prizes in Physics.)

    Jointly to Jean-Pierre Sauvage (France), Sir J. Fraser Stoddart (U.K.), and Bernard L. Feringa (Netherlands) "for the design and synthesis of molecular machines." (See also: Past winners in Chemistry Nobel Prizes.)

    Bob Dylan (U.S.) "for having created new poetic expressions within the great American song tradition." (See also: Past winners for Literature Nobel Prizes.)

    Oliver Hart (U.K./U.S.) and Bengt Holmstr?m (Finland/U.S.) "for their contributions to contract theory." (See also: Past winners in Economics Nobel Prizes.)

Sources +