Tour de France: winners of world's top cycling event

Updated February 21, 2017 | Factmonster Staff

Winner is based on points, not overall time.

The world's premier cycling event, the Tour de France is staged throughout the country (sometimes passing through neighboring countries) over four weeks. The 1946 Tour, however, the first after World War II, was only a five-day race.

Multiple winners: Jacques Anquetil, Bernard Hinault, Miguel Induráin and Eddy Merckx (5); Louison Bobet, Greg LeMond and Philippe Thys (3); Gino Bartali, Ottavio Bottecchia, Alberto Contador, Fausto Coppi, Laurent Fignon, Nicholas Frantz, Firmin Lambot, André Leducq, Sylvere Maes, Antonin Magne, Lucien Petit-Breton, Bernard Thevenet, Chris Froome (3).

YearCyclist, Country
1903Maurice Garin, France
1904Henri Cornet, France
1905Louis Trousselier, France
1906René Pottier, France
1907Lucien Petit-Breton, France
1908Lucien Petit-Breton, France
1909Francois Faber, Luxembourg
1910Octave Lapize, France
1911Gustave Garrigou, France
1912Odile Defraye, Belgium
1913Philippe Thys, Belgium
1914Philippe Thys, Belgium
1915Not held
1916Not held
1917Not held
1918Not held
1919Firmin Lambot, Belgium
1920Philippe Thys, Belgium
1921Léon Scieur, Belgium
1922Firmin Lambot, Belgium
1923Henri Pelissier, France
1924Ottavio Bottecchia, Italy
1925Ottavio Bottecchia, Italy
1926Lucien Buysse, Belgium
1927Nicholas Frantz, Luxembourg
1928Nicholas Frantz, Luxembourg
1929Maurice Dewaele, Belgium
1930André Leducq, France
1931Antonin Magne, France
1932André Leducq, France
1933Georges Speicher, France
1934Antonin Magne, France
1935Romain Maes, Belgium
1936Sylvere Maes, Belgium
1937Roger Lapebie, France
1938Gino Bartali, Italy
1939Sylvere Maes, Belgium
1940Not held
1941Not held
1942Not held
1943Not held
1944Not held
1945Not held
1946Jean Lazarides, France
1947Jean Robic, France
1948Gino Bartali, Italy
1949Fausto Coppi, Italy
1950Ferdinand Kubler, Switzerland
1951Hugo Koblet, Switzerland
1952Fausto Coppi, Italy
1953Louison Bobet, France
1954Louison Bobet, France
1955Louison Bobet, France
1956Roger Walkowiak, France
1957Jacques Anquetil, France
1958Charly Gaul, Luxembourg
1959Federico Bahamontes, Spain
1960Gastone Nencini, Italy
1961Jacques Anquetil, France
1962Jacques Anquetil, France
1963Jacques Anquetil, France
1964Jacques Anquetil, France
1965Felice Gimondi, Italy
1966Lucien Aimar, France
1967Roger Pingeon, France
1968Jan Janssen, Netherlands
1969Eddy Merckx, Belgium
1970Eddy Merckx, Belgium
1971Eddy Merckx, Belgium
1972Eddy Merckx, Belgium
1973Luis Ocana, Spain
1974Eddy Merckx, Belgium
1975Bernard Thevenet, France
1976Lucien van Impe, Belgium
1977Bernard Thevenet, France
1978Bernard Hinault, France
1979Bernard Hinault, France
1980Joop Zoetemelk, Netherlands
1981Bernard Hinault, France
1982Bernard Hinault, France
1983Laurent Fignon, France
1984Laurent Fignon, France
1985Bernard Hinault, France
1986Greg LeMond, USA
1987Stephen Roche, Ireland
1988Pedro Delgado, Spain
1989Greg LeMond, USA
1990Greg LeMond, USA
1991Miguel Induráin, Spain
1992Miguel Induráin, Spain
1993Miguel Induráin, Spain
1994Miguel Induráin, Spain
1995Miguel Induráin, Spain
1996Bjarne Riis, Denmark
1997Jan Ullrich, Germany
1998Marco Pantani, Italy
1999Lance Armstrong, USA*
2000Lance Armstrong, USA*
2001Lance Armstrong, USA*
2002Lance Armstrong, USA*
2003Lance Armstrong, USA*
2004Lance Armstrong, USA*
2005Lance Armstrong, USA*
2006Oscar Pereiro, ESP**
2007Alberto Contador, ESP
2008Carlos Sastre, ESP
2009Alberto Contador, ESP
2010Andy Schleck, LUX
2011Cadel Evans, AUS
2012Bradley Wiggins, GBR
2013Chris Froome, GBR
2014Vincenzo Nibali, ITA
2015Chris Froome, GBR
2016Chris Froome, GBR
*In 2012, Lance Armstrong was stripped of all his titles since 1998.
**Floyd Landis, USA, won the 2006 Tour de France, but tested positive for synthetic testosterone.
Sources +