Sun, Moon, and Stars: August 2002

Sun, moon, stars August 2002
 
 


Major phenomena
1Last Quarter
8New Moon
15First Quarter
22Full Moon
31Last Quarter
Other Months
Month
Year 
(available through 3/2007)
Celestial Links
Astronomical terms

Sunrise/Sunset, Moonrise/Moonset

Equinoxes and Solstices

Eclipses in 2002

Calendar 2002

Universal Time

 
Visit the Astronomy Center for more on the universe, the solar system, and related astronomical phenomena
August 2002—Week 1 (Aug. 1-5)

8/1:
1000 UT, 6 am EDT
LAST QUARTER
8/2:
0100 UT, 9 pm EDT (Aug. 1)
Neptune is at opposition, that is, Neptune and the Sun are aligned on opposite sides of Earth.
8/5:
0400 UT, 12 am EDT (midnight)
Saturn is 2 degrees south of the Moon.
 


August 2002—Week 2 (Aug. 6-12)

8/6:
0400 UT, 12 am EDT (midnight)
Mercury is 0 degrees 9 minutes north of Regulus, the brightest star in the constellation Leo.
8/8:
1900 UT, 3 pm EDT
NEW MOON
8/10:
0100 UT, 9 pm EDT (Aug. 9)
Mercury is 4 degrees south of the Moon.
2200 UT, 6 pm EDT
Mars is in conjunction with the Sun, that is, Mars and Earth are aligned on opposite sides of the Sun.
2300 UT, 7 pm EDT
The Moon is at its perigee, or closest point to Earth in its monthly orbit.
8/11:
2200 UT, 6 pm EDT
Venus is 6 degrees south of the Moon.
8/12:
1200 UT, 8 am EDT
Pallas, the second-largest asteroid, is at opposition, that is, Pallas and the Sun are aligned on opposite sides of Earth.


August 2002—Week 3 (Aug. 13-19)

 

8/15:
1000 UT, 6 am EDT
FIRST QUARTER
8/17:
1500 UT, 11 am EDT
Ceres, the largest asteroid, appears to be motionless in the sky as its direct motion changes to apparent backward, or retrograde, motion.


 

August 2002—Week 4 (Aug. 20-26)


8/20:
0100 UT, 9 pm EDT (Aug. 19)
Uranus is at opposition, that is, Neptune and the Sun are aligned on opposite sides of Earth.
8/21:
0400 UT, 12 am EDT (midnight)
Neptune is 4 degrees north of the Moon.
8/22:
1300 UT, 9 am EDT
Venus is at its greatest elongation, or angular distance from the Sun, at 46 degrees east of the Sun.
1400 UT, 10 am EDT
Uranus is 4 degrees north of the Moon.
2200 UT, 6 pm EDT
FULL MOON
8/26:
1800 UT, 2 pm EDT
The Moon is at its apogee, or farthest point from Earth in its monthly orbit.


August 2002—Week 5 (Aug. 27-31)

 

8/27:
2000 UT, 4 pm EDT
Pluto appears to be motionless in the sky as its direct motion changes to apparent backward, or retrograde, motion.
8/31:
0300 UT, 11 pm EDT (Aug. 30)
LAST QUARTER


 

Play Poptropica Worlds

Download Poptropica and play for free!

Explore a limitless universe of uncharted islands
App store
Google Play