Sun, Moon, and Stars: July 2002

Sun, moon, stars July 2002
 
 


Major phenomena
2Last Quarter
10New Moon
17First Quarter
24Full Moon
Other Months
Month
Year 
(available through 3/2007)
Celestial Links
Astronomical terms

Sunrise/Sunset, Moonrise/Moonset

Equinoxes and Solstices

Eclipses in 2002

Calendar 2002

Universal Time

 
Visit the Astronomy Center for more on the universe, the solar system, and related astronomical phenomena
July 2002—Week 1 (July 1-5)

7/2:
0800 UT, 4 am EDT
The Moon is at its apogee, or farthest point from Earth in its monthly orbit.
1100 UT, 7 am EDT
Mercury is 0 degrees 2 minutes south of Saturn.
1700 UT, 1 pm EDT
LAST QUARTER
7/3:
0600 UT, 2 am EDT
Mars is 0 degrees 8 minutes north of Jupiter.
7/4:
1700 UT, 1 pm EDT
Mars is 6 degrees south of Pollux, the brightest star in the constellation Gemini.
 


July 2002—Week 2 (July 6-12)

7/6:
0400 UT, 12 am EDT (midnight)
Earth is at its aphelion, or farthest point from the Sun in its yearly orbit.
7/8:
1300 UT, 9 am EDT
Saturn is 1 degree 7 minutes south of the Moon.
7/10:
1000 UT, 6 am EDT
NEW MOON
1000 UT, 6 am EDT
Venus is 1 degree 1 minute north of Regulus, the brightest star in the constellation Leo.


July 2002—Week 3 (July 13-19)

 

7/13:
1200 UT, 8 am EDT
Venus is 4 degrees south of the Moon.
7/14:
1300 UT, 9 am EDT
The Moon is at its perigee, or closest point to Earth in its monthly orbit.
7/17:
0500 UT, 1 am EDT
FIRST QUARTER


 

July 2002—Week 4 (July 20-26)


7/20:
0100 UT, 9 pm EDT (July 19)
Jupiter is in conjunction with the Sun, that is, Jupiter and Earth are aligned on opposite sides of the Sun.
7/21:
0200 UT, 10 pm EDT (July 20)
Mercury is in superior conjunction, that is, Mercury and Earth are aligned on opposite sides of the Sun.
7/23:
0800 UT, 4 am EDT
Vesta, the third-largest asteroid, is in conjunction with the Sun, that is, Vesta and Earth are aligned on opposite sides of the Sun.
7/24:
0900 UT, 5 am EDT
FULL MOON
2300 UT, 7 pm EDT
Neptune is 4 degrees north of the Moon.
7/26:
0900 UT, 5 am EDT
Uranus is 4 degrees north of the Moon.


July 2002—Week 5 (July 27-31)

 

7/30:
0200 UT, 10 pm EDT (July 29)
The Moon is at its apogee, or farthest point from Earth in its monthly orbit.


 

Play Poptropica Worlds

Download Poptropica and play for free!

Explore a limitless universe of uncharted islands
App store
Google Play