Kingdoms and Monarchs of the World

Updated February 21, 2017 | Factmonster Staff

Here is a list of all the monarchies in the world, listed by country with type of monarchy. See also: Current World Leaders

CountryMonarchType of monarchy
BahrainKing Hamad bin Isa al-KhalifaConstitutional
BelgiumKing Philippe (2013)Constitutional
BhutanJigme Khesar Namgyal WangchukinConstitutional
BruneiSultan Haji Hassanal BolkiahConstitutional
CambodiaKing Norodom SihamoniConstitutional
DenmarkQueen Margrethe IIConstitutional
JapanEmperor AkihitoConstitutional
JordanKing Abdullah IIConstitutional
KuwaitSabah Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah (2006)Constitutional
LesothoKing Letsie IIIConstitutional
LiechtensteinPrince Hans Adam IIConstitutional
LuxembourgGrand Duke HenriConstitutional
MalaysiaAlmu'tasimu Billahi Muhibbuddin Tuanku Alhaj Abdul Halim Mu'adzam Shah Ibni Almarhum Sultan BadlishahConstitutional
MonacoPrince Albert IIConstitutional
MoroccoKing Muhammad VIConstitutional
NetherlandsKing Willem-AlexanderConstitutional
NorwayKing Harald VConstitutional
OmanSultan Qabus ibn Sa'idAbsolute
QatarEmir Sheik Tamim ibn Hamad Al ThaniConstitutional
SamoaTuiatua Tupua Tamasese EfiConstitutional
Saudi ArabiaKing SalmanAbsolute
SpainFelipe VIParliamentary
SwazilandKing Mswati IIIAbsolute
SwedenKing Carl XVI GustafConstitutional
ThailandPrem Tinsulanonda, regentConstitutional
TongaKing Tupou VIConstitutional
United KingdomQueen Elizabeth II1Constitutional2
1. Queen Elizabeth II is also the Sovereign of 15 countries in the Commonwealth of Nations: Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Grenada, Jamaica, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, the Solomon Islands, and Tuvalu.
2. Also parliamentary democracy.

See also World Rulers.

Sources +