Madeleine L’Engle

Date Of Birth:
29 November 1918
Date Of Death:
6 September 2007
Place Of Birth:
New York City, New York
Best Known As:
The author of A Wrinkle in Time
Madeleine L'Engle won the Newbery Medal for children's literature in 1963 for her novel A Wrinkle in Time, a fantasy story of trans-dimensional derring-do underlaid with religious and philosophical themes. A graduate of Smith College (1941), L'Engle published her first novel in 1945. After her second novel was published, she married actor Hugh Franklin in 1946. They were married until he died in 1986. L'Engle wrote several novels, some for children and some for adults, as well as short stories, poems and memoirs. A Wrinkle in Time was the first of a series of novels that is called The Time Quintet, and includes A Wind in the Door (1973), A Swiftly Tilting Planet (1978), Many Waters (1986) and An Acceptable Time (1989).
4 Good Links

Copyright © 1998-2017 by Who2?, LLC. All rights reserved.

See also: