Ursula K. Le Guin

Date Of Birth:
21 October 1929
Date Of Death:
22 January 2018
Place Of Birth:
Berkeley, California
Best Known As:
The sci-fi author of The Earthsea Trilogy

Name at birth: Ursula Kroeber

American author Ursula K. Le Guin was one of the more lauded science fiction authors of the 20th century, the author of The Earthsea Trilogy and The Left Hand of Darkness. Ursula Le Guin was educated at Radcliffe College and Columbia University, and began publishing science fiction stories and novels in 1964. In 1969 Le Guin won the Hugo and Nebula Awards for The Left Hand of Darkness, and in 1974 she won the Hugo and Nebula Awards for The Dispossessed. She wrote on a wide variety of subjects, but was best known for her science fiction and fantasy novels and stories that explore political and social relationships in alien worlds. Her novels include the Earthsea series (which began as a trilogy but added three novels and eight stories), The Lathe of Heaven (1971), The Telling (2000) and the series Annals of the Western Shore (2004-07). Also an author of children's books, Ursula K. Le Guin won the National Book Award in 1972 for The Farthest Shore, and authored several books in the Catwings series.
4 Good Links

Copyright © 1998-2017 by Who2?, LLC. All rights reserved.

See also: