Women Pulitzer Prize Winners in Journalism

See Pulitzer Prizes in Journalism at for the full list of winners.

Meritorious Public Service

1918New York Times; also special award to Minna Kewinson and Henry Beetle Hough
1991Des Moines Register, reporting by Jane Schorer
2000Washington Post, reporting by Katherine Boo
2008Washington Post, reporting by Dana Priest and Anne Hull


1964Hazel Brannon Smith (Lexington [Miss.] Advertiser)
1978Meg Greenfield (Washington Post)
1988Jane E. Healy (Orlando Sentinel)
1989Lois Wille (Chicago Tribune)
1992Maria Henson (Lexington [Ky.] Herald–Leader)
2003Cornelia Grumman (Chicago Tribune)


1937Anne O'Hare McCormick (New York Times)

Editorial Cartooning

1992Signe Wilkinson (Philadelphia Daily News)
2001Ann Telnaes (Los Angeles Times Syndicate)

News Photography

1954Mrs. Walter M. Schau
1986Spot news: Michel duCille and Carol Guzy (Miami Herald); features: Tom Gralish (Philadelphia Inquirer)
1995Spot news: Carol Guzy (Washington Post); features: Associated Press Staff
1996Spot news: Charles Porter IV, freelance photographer for Associated Press; features: Stephanie Walsh, freelance photographer for Newhouse News Service
1997Spot news: Annie Wells (The Press Democrat [Santa Rosa, Calif.]); features: Alexander Zemlianichenko (Associated Press)
1998Spot news: Martha Rial (The Pittsburgh Post–Gazette); features: Clarence Williams (The Los Angeles Times)
2000Breaking news: photographic staff of Denver Rocky Mountain News; features: Carol Guzy, Michael Williamson, and Lucian Perkins (Washington Post)
2004Breaking news: David Leeson and Cheryl Diaz Meyer (Dallas Morning News); features: Carolyn Cole (Los Angeles Times)
2005Features: Deanne Fitzmaurice (San Fransisco Chronicle)
2007Features: Renee C. Byer (Sacramento Bee)
2010Breaking news: Mary Chind (Des Moines Register)
2011Breaking news: Carol Guzy and Nikki Kahn (Washington Post); features: Barbara Davidson (Los Angeles Times)

National Reporting

1971Lucinda Franks and Thomas Powers (United Press International)
1980Bette Swenson Orsini and Charles Stafford (St. Petersburg Times)
1990Ross Anderson, Bill Dietrich, Mary Ann Gwinn, and Eric Nalder (Seattle Times)
1991Marjie Lundstrom and Rochelle Sharpe (Gannett News Service)
1994Eileen Welsome (Albuquerque [N.M.] Tribune)
1996Alix M. Freedman (Wall Street Journal)

International Reporting

1951Keyes Beech and Fred Sparks (Chicago Daily News); Homer Bigart and Marguerite Higgins (New York Herald Tribune); Relman Morin and Don Whitehead (Associated Press)
1981Shirley Christian (Miami Herald)
1984Karen E. House (Wall Street Journal)
1986Lewis M. Simons, Pete Carey, and Katherine Ellison (San Jose Mercury News)
1990Nicholas D. Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn (New York Times)
1991Caryle Murphy (Washington Post); Serge Schmemann (New York Times)
2005Kim Murphy (Los Angeles Times); Dele Olojede (Newsday)
2008Jo Becker (Washington Post)
2011Ellen Barry (New York Times)


1955Mrs. Caro Brown (Alice [Tex.] Daily Echo);1 Roland Kenneth Towery (Cuero [Tex.] Record)2
1959Mary Lou Werner (Washington [D.C.] Evening Star);1 John Harold Brislin (Scranton [Pa.] Tribune & Scrantonian)2
1960Jack Nelson (Atlanta Constitution);1 Miriam Ottenberg (Washington Evening Star)2
1. Reporting under pressure of edition deadlines.
2. Reporting not under pressure of edition deadlines.

General Local Reporting

1977Margo Huston (Milwaukee Journal)
2007Debbie Cenziper (Miami Herald)
2007Raquel Rutledge (Milwaukee Journal Sentinel)

General News Reporting

1986Edna Buchanan (Miami Herald)

Special Local Reporting

1972Timothy Leland, Gerard N. O'Neill, Stephen A. Kurkjian, and Ann DeSantis (Boston Globe)
1980Nils J. Bruzelius, Alexander B. Hawes, Jr., Stephen A. Kurkjian, Robert M. Porterfield, and Joan Vennochi (Boston Globe)
1983Loretta Tofani (Washington Post)
1984Kenneth Cooper, Joan FitzGerald, Jonathan Kaufman, Norman Lockman, Gary McMillan, Kirk Scharfenberg, and David Wessel (Boston Globe)

Investigative Reporting

1985Lucy Morgan, Jack Reed (St. Petersburg [Fla.] Times), and William K. Marimow (Philadelphia Inquirer)
1988Dean Baquet, William C. Gaines, and Ann Marie Lipinski (Chicago Tribune)
1991Joseph T. Hallinan and Susan M. Headden (Indianapolis Star)
1992Lorraine Adams and Dan Malone (Dallas Morning News)
1993Jeff Brazil and Steve Berry (Orlando [Fla.] Sentinel)
1995Stephanie Saul and Brian Donovan (Newsday)
1997Eric Nalder, Deborah Nelson, and Alex Tizon (Seattle Times)
2000Sang-Hun Choe, Charles J. Hanley, and Martha Mendoza (Associated Press)
2002Sari Horwitz, Scott Higham, and Sarah Cohen (Washington Post)
2006Susan Schmidt, James V. Grimaldi, and R. Jeffrey Smith (Washington Post)
2010Barbara Laker and Wendy Ruderman (Philadelphia Daily News ) and Sheri Fink of ProPublica
2011Paige St. John (Sarasota Herald-Tribune)

Feature Writing

1980Madeleine Blais (Miami Herald)
1981Teresa Carpenter (Village Voice, New York)
1983Nan Robertson (New York Times)
1985Alice Steinbach (Baltimore Sun)
1988Jacqui Banaszynski (St. Paul Pioneer Press Dispatch)
1991Sheryl James (St. Petersburg [Fla.] Times)
1994Isabel Wilkerson (New York Times)
1997Lisa Pollak (Baltimore Sun)
2003Sonia Nazario (Los Angeles Times)
2005Julia Keller (Chicago Tribune)
2007Andrea Elliott (New York Times)
2011Amy Ellis Nutt (Star Ledger)


1975Mary McGrory (Washington Star)
1980Ellen H. Goodman (Boston Globe)
1992Anna Quindlen (New York Times)
1993Liz Balmaseda (Miami Herald)
1996E. R. Shipp (New York Daily News)
1997Eileen McNamara (Boston Globe)
1999Maureen Dowd (New York Times)
2001Dorothy Rabinowitz (Wall Street Journal)
2005Connie Schultz (Plain Dealer)
2007Cynthia Tucker (Atlanta Journal-Constitution)
2010Kathleen Parker (Washington Post)


1970Ada Louise Huxtable (New York Times)
1974Emily Genauer (Newsday Syndicate)
1983Manuela Hoelterhoff (Wall Street Journal)
1995Margo Jefferson (New York Times)
1998Michiko Kakutani (New York Times)
2001Gail Caldwell (Boston Globe)
2006Robin Givhan (Washington Post)
2010Sarah Kaufman (Washington Post)

Explanatory Journalism

1989David Hanners, William Snyder, and Karen Blessen (Dallas Morning News)
1991Susan C. Faludi (Wall Street Journal)
1996Laurie Garrett (Newsday [Long Island, N.Y.])
1997Michael Vitez, Ron Cortes, and April Saul (Philadelphia Inquirer)
2009Bettina Boxall and Julie Cart (Los Angeles Times
2011Kathleen Gallagher and Alison Sherwood (Milwaukee Journal Sentinel)

Specialized Reporting

1985Randall Savage and Jackie Crosby (Macon [Ga.] Telegraph and News)
1986Andrew Schneider and Mary Pat Flaherty (Pittsburgh Press)
1990Tamar Stieber (Albuquerque (N.M.) Journal)

Beat Reporting

1991Natalie Angier (New York Times)
1992Deborah Blum (Sacramento Bee)
1998Linda Greenhouse (New York Times)
2002Gretchen Morgenson (New York Times)
2003Diana K. Sugg (Baltimore Sun)
2005Amy Dockser Marcus (Wall Street Journal)
2006Dana Priest (Washington Post)
2008Amy Harmon (New York Times)
Play Poptropica Worlds

Download Poptropica and play for free!

Explore a limitless universe of uncharted islands
App store
Google Play
See also: