2018 Winter Olympics: Competing Countries

Updated February 13, 2018 | Factmonster Staff

2018 Winter Olympics in Pyeongchang

92 countries to compete at Pyeongchang, including six newcomers

Vitaly Smirnov Gives Russian Athletes His Blessing
Source: AP Photo/Ivan Sekretarev

Related Links

Winter Olympics Through The Years

This year sees a significant shift in the body of competition from 2014. 11 countries that competed in 2014 will not return in 2018, including Russia after its infamous doping scandal around Rio 2016. 14 countries not represented in 2014 will compete this year, including six newcomers. These are Ecuador, Eritrea, Kosovo, Malaysia, Nigeria and Singapore. Also making a brief appearance will be the unified Korean team, a mixed group of North and South Korean athletes competing in Women's Ice Hockey.

Additionally, the International Olympic Committee (IOC) has established a new team, Olympic Athletes from Russia, for individual Russian athletes who are proven in accordance with Olympic doping regulations. Speaking for the Russian Olympic Committee, former IOC member and current Russian Olympic official Vitaly Smirnov (pictured right) gave Russian athletes their blessing to participate under the new neutral flag.


More about the 2018 Winter Olympics


Sources +